Wow, it's tough without internet to keep up with this thing. 
Currently I am watching The Simpsons and eating nutella on everything. I figured I should be able to at least handle a cartoon in Italian.

The last few days have been a whirlwind! Florence is amazing. There is always something new to see. I walk down the same streets everyday to class and always notice something new. However, the city feels small because I run into the same people all the time (often unfriendly people I rather not see again!) It is amazing to think that I am walking along the same streets that Michelangelo, Dante, Machiavelli, Galileo and so many others once walked on.

My instructor Elisabeta is the best. Unfortunately I only have her for one or two more weeks when our first class is over. I don't feel like I have learned much at all! I had my interview and my first day of work since I last posted. It has been INTENSE, let me tell you. During the interview I said about two words total- probably "ciao" and "jamie". The director of my school came with me and basically talked the whole time in Italian. I just smiled and nodded..... 

My first day of work (a half day) was rough. My boss is nice but it's difficult to speak with each other because of the language barrier. I want to know more about him and how he got into the communication business, but for now I can't even make a coherent sentence. When i walked in the door today all the lessons just flew out of my head. I was given an assignment.... and I had no idea how to ask for design instructions in Italian. Logo, font, PDF, double-sided, in color? I was so lost that I just tried really hard to do SOMETHING designy-like on my laptop. I was so intimidated. I felt like it was my very first day on co-op two years ago.... only this time I couldn't speak!! I am surprised because most of my classmates don't start work for awhile because of the language problem. I guess it doesn't matter as long as I can make things happen on the computer! I sure hope this works out, because its so unbelievably frightening to not be able to speak back. Being a shy person- this is definitely a huge task for me to tackle.

Oh and yesterday I went to the mercato centrale. It is this huge building with meat, cheese and veggie stalls. It was incredible! I have been trying to go for weeks. My friend and I got potatoes, peppers, bananas, zucchini... ect. and everything was ridiculously cheap! It was such a relief from the prices in the rest of Florence. Fun too. The meat stalls were ridiculous. I saw pig heads and whole rabbits... it was pretty sickening but I guess that is how people cook here? 

I sure hope I can do it! I think I just need to vent, eat some nutella, have some vino rosso and look forward to the weekend (and my day trip to Siena + San Gimignano on Sunday).

Ciao bella! 

oh and p.s...... sometimes I think to myself. while this is great and all... maybe I should have just taken it easy and gone on vacation! hah. oh well
anita
1/22/2010 12:22:04 am

You just remember that even though you are among all that great history you are just as instrumental in making new history and are unique too. It's not your language they need as much as your ideas and freshness. You are getting so much more than a relaxing vacation. I'm so proud of you! And you're not as shy as I thought you were! I love reading your thoughts. Thanks

Reply



Leave a Reply.